Rate this topic

Elvis

I hate myself for even asking this and i KNOW i should just give it up, singing or not singing, but i wanna know if anyone knows how hard does cigarette smoking affects your vocal abilities.

I know it cant be good, and im reall trying to quit, and singing is probably my biggest motivation for quiting singing, tough its extremel hard. Im only 21 but ive been smoking  a pack of cigs a day for 7 years now.

Not to mention that this habit of mine is costing me 2-3 lessons monthly with Maestro Lunte. Guess you have to be a moron to spend money on poison. but i guess im that moron.

So did anyone read up on any studies of how ciggarette someking affects your ability to sing?

There may be studies out there but I have not seen them, though there is plenty of anecdotal statements and opinions against it.

But here is another consideration, even without studies. I am not saying there is a clinical link between cigarettes and lung cancer, only a strong concurrence between the two. That is, there is no clinical study that shows the point at which a compound from a cigarette triggers the body to start growing cancerous cells.

But assume that it will cause cancer. That will eventually cut your wind and ability. Or, the smoke could give you cancer of the vocal folds or some other part of the vocal mechanism. 

It's a risk that you take. I knew of a lady that smoked most of her life and smoked from young adult to about 115. She died at 123.

I knew of another young man dying of lung cancer at age 20. Never touched one. None of his friends or family smoked.

And all the variations in between.

It can, according to some, change how you sound. Eric Clapton used to smoke and people loved his raspy sound. Then he quit and his sound cleaned up naturally and people missed that sound and he said, "Too bad, I needed to quit." And he was not interested in trying to get rasp back, either.