Concentrate on the Right Things

Rate this topic

Danielformica

Lately I have been lurking on the forums more than answering questions. I am finding that a lot of the questions that are being asked can be answered very simply but are being answered very wordy and creating confusion.

I want to say that maybe I was lucky to study with who I studied and study with and also how I made my career singing for a living. It wasn't easy but I put a lot of work into my voice many many years 20 + and many years on the road away from an apt whether it be in NYC, CA, ATL,CHICAGO, CT.. I blew out my voice many times and studied with whomever I could never once did any of my teachers worth anything bring up terms like Twang,compression, hold or hold back your breath, embouchure,dampening, sphincters of any kind;), this anchor that anchor,chewbaca sounds, guinea pigs,curbing,overdrive etc etc etc.. Of course when I started teaching 7 years ago(after mastering technique In other words sing anything I want and diagnose problems quickly) I started seeing all these terms and had to know what they meant to keep up with the young guns term wise. 

So what I am trying to say is if you want to be a great singer you only need to concern yourself with a FEW principles/exercises Practiced Perfectly.  Ask yourself these questions and listen to yourself closely when you practice.  Does the vowel I am singing sound like the vowel i want? Is my voice ringing and buzzy? As I sing higher in my range do I stay consistent? Does my teacher demonstrate exactly what his "method" says it does?

Hope this helps and doesn't sound like I'm looking down on the new terms. But TRUTH be told I got my technique down from perfect practice,vowels sound like vowels,and keep the buzzy ringy sound constant. hard hard work no b.s.  years not months at least 15 years of perfect practice…Anyone of my musician friends/band mates would tell you the same..

Hope this helps..

Daniel