From Metal Screams to Tom Jones! My vocal evolution.;)

Rate this topic

Hey everyone,

I just joined here and wanted to have you check out a couple of examples of my vocals from the past. I was a self taught singer and started out singing hard rock and metal but eventually got into Tom Jones and his vocal style later in life. I haven't sang for a few years now as I wanted to unlearn my poor vocal habits and start fresh with proper technique.

Here's a link to a youtube clip of my best heavy metal high notes from back then...

And here's me singing Tom Jones "Thunderball" to show what I managed to achieve vocally with no training. http://files.me.com/muskysnax/m9ub0c.mp3

I'm excited to see what I'll be able to accomplish with proper training and hard work!

Thanks for listening and please let me know what you think, good or bad. That's why I'm here.

Thanks Matt! :D I really had no training or knowledge of how to sing whatsoever. I just tried my best to emulate my favorite voices but often had swollen adenoids and sore throats. I've never had my tonsils out and they are still fairly large and block quite a bit of my airway. I'm considering having them removed and then starting to train my voice from scratch the right way. I think I had potential when I was singing back then but I always wanted to sing better, higher and with more control. Have any of you had tonsils removed later in life and how was the experience?

Here's a couple more examples of me singing in the style of Tom Jones... http://files.me.com/muskysnax/b8menj.mp3 http://files.me.com/muskysnax/e1nmhl.mp3

• Administrator