Dio's vocal up for studying here

I stumbled upon this dude who seem to have original tracks from the studio. This is a vocal only track of Holy Diver. He have a lot, check his channel out.

any experts there care to share what they hear from Ronnie's vox and explain how it is done?

Especially near the end of the song, he gets very very rough. Almost forceful? I'm not an expert on this.

This is Dio on Rainbow In The Dark

this is head voice right? but with so much roughness on it it's amazing.

I'll tell you what it sounds like to me. Great support, open throat, significant twang (to the point of distortion), focus on 'errr' kinds of vowels which works great for belt screaming, and what sounds most complicated is even some of a hold (pot smoker's breath) to me. He basically used all of the advanced techniques to my ears.

What I will tell you however, is especially when combining this pot smoker's breath thing (I am pretty sure it's quite similar to curbing which is a moan, but I'm not sure it's identical), it's by far the easiest technique to constrict on and you need the exact right amount of air and support and the minimal amount of hold. Applying too much or too little, even changing your vowels can make it messy, sometimes even painful or flat out damaging. You could go anywhere from into some kind of heavy metallic falsetto, to some kind of forced shout, or the worst, you'd just over blow and injure yourself. So I'd take things slowly and one thing at a time, rather than trying to juggle everything.