Your review / comments on this clip please

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hi,

I am new here and very impressed by the level of all the members. Congrats !

I have to tell you, and you will see it in the following link, I am an absolute beginner singer. After almost 20 years of guitar playing, I decided to learn singing 3 monthes ago, because I was fed up by not finding vocalists.

Anyway, this is my (poor) attempt of Surrounded by DT.

http://www.wideo.fr/video/iLyROoafI_4l.html

I wanted to post an iphone video because recording with a good mic + compressor should have masked some technique mistakes. I prefer to be 100% transparent and honest to improve quicker.

I learn with a teacher and with Vendera's Raise your Voice where i found all the basic technique tips... I work hard but singing is a very long process. I have received today James Lugo's DVD also with which I will work hard for sure.

I don't like my voice which is too metallic for me (in the bad sense), and I have not begun to see all vocal effects (vibrato, grit, ...) because the best is to get IMHO a good vocal technique before adding after effects.

Thanks for your help. DOn't hesitate to criticize me, because all what you will say will help me to improve my skills.

Humbly yours

Djemass

Allo!

I think that you have the "bones" or raw talent to be a singer. Where I see/hear you need some help with is relaxation and letting the notes just come out. You have the range to hit those high notes. Watch the original singer for Dream Theatre and how he is delivering the song.

Find a good vocal teacher to show you proper breathing techniques and a good foundation. Once you have a good foundation, you can decide what to work on after (tone, sound, head voice, bridging...etc). You have a good vibrato. :)