Still loving you - by The Scorpions (a capella)

Rate this topic

Hi, here I was using this song as a basis to practise singing around the male passagio, with a type of sound that some people might call curbing, others might call mix and some would just call it Klaus:

http://www.speedyshare.com/files/22628675/Still_loving_you_-_training.mp3

Note that I'm not attempting any type of grit here (not that there is much of it in the original song). I'm just trying to master that type of singing, i.e. mix/curbing/tenor-singing. Do you guys think my technique there is somewhat correct or not? (I know that not every note is perfect.) Just wondering, because I've been training with that type of sound a lot and if it sucks, that sucks.

There were some really good moments in there dude! I like where you sing "so strong that I can't get THROUGH" The word through had a really good sound to it. I think you're on the right track for sure but I'm no expert when it comes to actual technique.

I think you sang it stronger than Klaus Meine. In the original version, his is more nasal, with a full head voice but "wasting air" which pulls back on the volume and gives him the rasp he was going for, whereas you were belting in mixed voice, a testament to you being a natural tenor, at least in sound, and giving it a sonic blast. That is, you were singing properly and fully resonated. It is Klaus who may have been using the crying resonance to reach that range at the soft volume he was creating for the song.

For the fun of it, I'm gonna post 2 more acapella tracks here, Sweet child o' mine and Highway to hell. Later I want to take a shot of them with backing tracks. I didn't want to flood the forum with too many threads so I'm posting them here.