Want to get "more" out of my voice...i know it's in there :)

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hello, My name is Kelly, and I have been playing guitar and singing for about 19 years now with no real "training" on either...except for being lucky to have met really talented people along the way and picked up what I could when I could. Recently, I have been told by multiple people that...not that I have a bad vocal, but that they think there is another whole level they think I am capable of but that I just do not know how to get to it vocally. Now I know for a fact one of those people meant range like notes I can hit, but not sure if they meant tone as well. Anyways I was referred here by a very much trusted friend and thought I would give it a shot, so any pointers, criticisms, suggestions, help in the right direction I can get I will welcome gladly and thanks in advance for those of you who take the time to listen. I appreciate it :) My youtube page is in my signature down there and has all my stuff there and here is a link to a song directly that is one of my most recent originals that I wrote for my youngest son. Thanks again!

http://www.youtube.com/user/khjavy8
http://www.facebook.com/kellyhoylefuller

Excellent song. I like the way that you use the second capo to create an "open" tuning. I think your voice sounds fine and I like the country yodel feel to it. I don't know what "next" step there is unless it is to sound like someone already famous. I think you should sound like yourself. One thing you can do to brighten notes is smile while singing. It changes the charcteristics of your resonating space when you sing. It'sn't just to see you smile. Your singing was just fine but, I guess, you could experiment with different sound effects in your voice to see what happens.

Hey Kelly, welcome to TMV. checked your video and really liked it. Have you seen the number of views your video got and the number of comments? Means you are doing manny things right :)