Highway to Hell - revisited

Rate this topic

In another thread, I mentioned that one day, with quite a bit of twang, I thought I had approached the timbre of Bon Scott while singing this song and then, midway through, changed to how I normally sing it. Mike and jonpall were interested in hearing that. Only, I can't quite reproduce what I did. It may vary well have to do with something I was breathing that day. I work in construction and I am exposed to all kinds of dust and particles, including blown popcorn insulation, drywall dust, cutting oil from pipe fitters, diesel fumes from heavy machinery. Hollering across a work site to a co-worker, you name it.

Anyway, I have been recording this song for most of this week, trying to recreate what I described. Today, I did at least 4 takes. I mowed the lawn earlier and I thought maybe grass pollen might affect things. I can't do what I thought I could do. However, samples were asked for and I thought I would submit this.

The backing track is a karaoke track I downloaded but it had original vocals on it so I used the vocal remover for center panned vocals that is available in Audacity. It doesn't remove it all but quite a bit. Including the tones of instruments near the range of the vocals. So, the music sounds a bit rough.

I used breath support, fry, twang, and some covering, I think. After recording, I used the pre-set eq labelled Columbia. I used compression. I adjusted the volume of both tracks. I tried clip fix and that didn't help anything. And I think I like this version better than the acoustical version I had submitted when I first came to this forum.

I feel I do better when I sing with the spirit of the song rather than trying to exactly copy Bon Scott. I have no illusions and I am on the highway to hell. That's a whole other thread in maybe a different forum. So, it is somewhat of a theme song for me.