Stuck for years with that kind of singing - How can I improve?

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hi,

I have been singing for over ten years now but never reached the level I was aiming for. For lack of money I never took singing lessons. I have the feeling that I am doing something fundamentally wrong, because sometimes I sing off pitch and don't notice until I listen to the recording later. Soft songs like the one I want to show to you in the example seem to work better than metal or rock songs. Sadly I enjoy those most. So, maybe time for a sugar break!

If some vocal pros could point out some of the mistakes I am making and how to correct them I'd be a very happy puppy for today!

edit: I took the freedom of using the intro to review the melody.

Hey Wakawaka, I liked your timbre man. You know you are singing 1 octave below the original, right?! I also liked how you changed the melody just a bit in a few parts. May I ask you how you recorded this song? Because the volume of your voice seems to fluctuate throughout the song. I think that maybe because you sang this song so softly you didn't support accordingly, and that might be one of the reasons of the fluctuations in the volume, and sometimes on the pitch. So, by your description on the top, and the way you chose to sing this song, I assume you struggle to sing the high notes of the songs you like. It that is true, and you are passionate about singing, even with no professional intention, I think you should invest in learning and training vocal techniques. You already have a good voice, you just need to learn the right techniques and practice. Cheers

Hi Gneetap, thanks for the reply man.