Help with Weak / Unstable voice

Rate this topic

Hi all,

This is my first post in this board so I hope it will go ok.

My main problem is with speaking.   I'm a computer programmer so I don't talk that much during the day, but when I do sometimes it becomes realy difficult and I have to say every sentence twice or three times because people keep asking me "What?", so that's basically why I'm posting this here, in hope someone may enlighten me.

My problem is with speaking, not singing.  As far as singing - after a proper warm up, I can sing songs like "Radio Ga Ga" by Queen or "Man In The Mirror" by Michael Jackson almost easily, and they are using some high notes in them.   My problem is not in the high notes, but in the lower notes where my speech is at.

Now, there are some occasions where my speech suddenly becomes easy and flawless, I noticed that it happends in the following 2 cases:

1. If I went to a night club, or somewhere where I need to talk loudly to be heard.  Then after I get out of it, my voice becomes heard, and easy to speak for about 2 days (after 2 days my voice goes back to the quiet / unheard speech).

2. If I talk on the phone with a friend, then after about 30-40 minutes of speaking my voice will start to connect more easily and then I'll stop struggling.

I went to an ENT doctor for diagnosis about 3 years ago and he said I have "bowed vocal cords" and recommended speech therapy, but it didnt realy help me that much: they said that my problem is that I dont have enough "breath support" and gave me all kinds of exercises that work on breath support, which eventually made it even more difficult for me to speak and got me tired even faster.

I did some research of my own though, and from what I read and seen I get the feeling that my problem is with cord closure. I have also found one exercise that helped me a little, and that is the "Goog" exercise.