Which breathing technique should I use?

Rate this topic

forgivendays

Hi. I've been using CVT's breathing technique for a couple of months now. When I breathe in my stomach goes in and my solar plexus, waist, and lower ribs expand. Then there's Jaime Vendera's technique (more common like in SLS) where your stomach expands when you breath in. Any insight from someone who used both? I wanna buy Vendera's Ultimate Breathing Workout to really improve my breathing but I'm not sure if I want to change a technique I've been using for months.

I have the Vendera book but am not familiar with the other. I'd thought i'd chip in with some two cents.

Vendera is pretty clear on the point that you should intake as much air as possible when doing the breath workouts, even more so that when you actually sing. But you should not "pout" with stomach or use the abs to expand it.

So I'm not sure they need to be polar opposites. There may be a middle ground somewhere.

Keeping the ribs expanded is probebly the biggest factor in achieving good support, let noone discredit that. What pictures different coaches use does vary and so does their effectiveness. Their is no best method for all, if you wanna try new stuff then do it and see what feels best. As said before, you should avoid forcing your abs to do work.

If you have Vendera's pdf version, you will have access to the tutorials on his website. Then you can physically see what he is doing. From how he stands and breathes to how he massages his throat to keep his muscles supple.

More exercises does not at all have to correlate with how good something is. ;) The CVT book has one of the best support chapter's in the industry, but you could of course try different techniques if you're not getting the results you want. Do you feel like your current breathing is causing you troubles?