Stairway to Heaven - unplugged

Rate this topic

I was born in 1964 so I was a teenager during a good chunk of the 70's. (Yes, I had a pair bell bottoms. Also, some regulation dungarees, as my first step-father, Gerald, was a boiler tech 2c in the Navy. After his active combat tour in the Sea of Japan, he was transferred to the USS Ogden, another destroyer. And, my grandparents even got me a leisure suit, once. Polyester, of course.) Anyway, as a young man learning to play guitar, it soon became apparent that every young woman wanted to hear this song and knowing it was the surest way to gain some friendship with them.

I started playing this song when I was 15, even though it was originally published in 1973 and was on Led Zepellin IV (the "Ruination" album.) The way the story goes, Jimmie Page had just purchased the castle of Aleister Crowley. And he so loved the acoustics of the great hall, that he wanted to record there. The guitar bit that starts the song was actually one of his warm up exercises. Robert Plant was thinking of a young lady he knew that thought the whole world was at her beck and call. Out of this hodge-podge of blues and instrumental harmony came a classic that changed the world of music. Funny thing, it's not one of Plant's favorites. He preferred "Since I've been Loving You," the "Lemon Song," and "D'yer Maker."

I recorded this two different ways. First time, I recorded the main guitar part with the acoustic. Second track was a guitar solo during the bridge. Third track was vocals. I was not having much luck mixing and I think having different compression on different tracks played hob.

So, I went back to my comfort zone, playing and singing together. "Live." And this is that second version. No solo. I was going to apologize in advance for the volume of the high note near the end. Though you can't hear it, I am moving my chair back before that note so that I am at least two full feet away from the pop filter in front of the mic.