Sign in to follow this  
r00dris

Voice "cracking" all the time... has the smoking habit destroyed my voice?

Rate this topic

Think of the sound of the male teenagers' voice when they're in puberty, getting lower, and sometimes they crack. I bet some of you know that sound.

It's what happens  to me, all the time, in my middle range and my lower range.

It gets better after 10-15 minutes of warmups, but I'm still not confident that it won't crack. I can't imagine myself singing live, for example. Hell... On the verge of hitting THAT important note, and then... CRACK!

I've been smoking for more than 4 years now (which was also when I started singing). My voice also changed quite a bit since then (from a mid/lighter baritone to a mid/lower baritone) and I've learned everything I know, but, as you see, not all gains were positive...

Any help on how to deal with this... Anything... is welcome.

(about quitting smoking... I'm trying as hard as I can)

yeah, pretty sure smoking and singing dont mix too well. Thats being said, a lot of famous singers smoked and they were still singing well after way more than 4 years smoking. Unfortunately some, like Robert Plant, had like 2 insane good vocal albums and then started going downhill quickly, due to smoking and not warming up and touring blah blah.

that being said, u need to quit lol. Hell with singing, smoking destroys your health period. I dont think its so much about "trying" to quit as it is about really "deciding" to quit. After being too overweight for many many years, I have lost 43 lbs in the last 7 months and Lord willing will lose about 30 more. Once I got started it was easy.....but that was after years and years of wanting to and thinking about it blah blah

At some point u just say "f45ck it, im done smoking" and 'Im a non smoker' etc. Ween down to 5 or 10 a day or whatever and then cold turkey I guess. Drink water and stay busy doing other stuff