Pharyngeal Voice

Rate this topic

akarawd

I've been doing the witch's cackle a lot lately and I'm discovering a whole new a edge to my voice.

But I've got questions ;

a) What is the pharyngeal muscle ?

B) What are the benefits and drawbacks of its use ? I know it makes my voice cut through like never before but that's it.

c) Is it "connected" to distortion ?

d) Does it require a "thin vocal fold" formation ? (I've been reading that that's what twang requires)

e) Is it the same as twang ?

g) How "low" is it safe to go using this pharyngeal sound ?

I apologize if any of the questions above have been covered already and being an amateur myself even the questions themselves might be wrong.

Thanks in advance,

Thanos

You forgot f)

I'll fill it in for you:

f) Do you have the CVT book?

:)

I'm sure that many vocal programs out there answer some of these questions but personally, I just know that CVT is one of them. "Raise your voice" by Jamie Vendera also talks a bit about this and my guess is that Robert Lunte's Pillars program does, too.

Robert, I think you're misreading our intentions and are turning people off this great site. Maybe CVT has become a banned word like SLS was kind of a curse word here about a year ago (for some people here). But note that I also mentioned the Pillars. Not because I felt I had to, but because it's my understanding that the Pillars covers this subject. I'm sure akarawd doesn't have any alterior motives nor is he Martin H. reincarnated. I can't see where he's being improper. Let's all be friends, shall we?

Respectfully,

jonpall.

• Administrator

Again, there is no "banned" school of teaching on this site and people are welcome to discuss anything and any school they want provided its in good faith and follows the forum guidelines. My concern is not without having experienced the past which will not be repeated.

I've been doing the witch's cackle a lot lately and I'm discovering a whole new a edge to my voice.