High falsetto: problem

Rate this topic

2-25

Dear all,

Being new to this forum, I'd like to start out with a matter that has been bugging me lately. I hope some of you can give me some advice.

I'm still learning the basics of singing, having had apx. 20 lessons with a good coach starting about a year ago. I sing pop styles for myself and classical in a choir (no belcanto). I still have several problems, the most frustrating being the following:

I'm working on increasing range. I know I have a limited range in my modal voice (I'm told I'm a baritone, although some teachers thought there might be a tenor hidden somewhere deep inside). The thing is: my falsetto really disappoints me. There seems to be a lock inside me, preventing me from getting to a decent height, that is sometimes useful in the choir I sing in and in my solo work. It's like a barrier I can't seem to get through. Also, I find it hard to articulate clearly in falsetto.

UNTIL this afternoon: suddenly, just out of the blue, I was able to reach heights with falsetto I never had before: it much sounded like a classical countertenor / alto voice and I was really amazed by it. It was controlled (not squeeled) and I could sing softly with a good breath support.

All good right? No, because as soon as I got home, it was gone and I couldn't trigger it anymore: it felt stuck and locked again, just like before. It's really frustrating to suspect I can do something but it's restricted within me and I don't know how to release it.

Do you guys have any suggestions on how to free my voice? (Perhaps it will help free my modal voice as well.)

(I know the procedure would be to take lessons again, but I can't afford them at the moment.)

Any help is appreciated!

Dear all,

Being new to this forum, I'd like to start out with a matter that has been bugging me lately. I hope some of you can give me some advice.