Vocal buzz and headaches

Rate this topic

Wildcat

Hey All,

I've been really focusing on resonance, and for me I get two sensations. One, I can hear the increase of strength in formants, sounding like a ringing pitch of it's own, and then I also feel a buzzing, vibrating sensation which I try to have in my entire head (teeth, hard and soft palates, forehead and eyes, back of the head, and down to the oropharynx). My best description of this is a ton of echoes in my head forming a "buzzy cloud." I suppose this is singing in the mask, and I've only recently realized that I could really intensify these sensations. I've been singing through my usable range A2 to F#5 for a few months now, and I've only recently gotten access to notes in the area of B4 and above because I just started singing last January. I always used to strain to get into the "almighty mask," so I abandoned trying, thinking the imagery was just imagery, and I think though I could sing in that range it wasn't as connected, easy, or tonally the way I wanted. Recently, I've found the buzzing feeling and it was so strong the other day it almost felt like a laser was shot from the back of my right eye in an instant, that had to just stop. Now, I've read that headaches caused from singing cold be from muscle strains in the neck or head or straining affecting blood supply to the brain, but in the clip below I was very relaxed and only supported the tone appropriately. The crazy vibrations in my head, I've noticed doesn't equate to volume, but it does seem to make it easier for me to sing at dynamic volumes with a more consistent and full tone quality (and I had a pretty moderate headache after doing the hums and slides for around 30 minutes). I was walking in between classes today and I did a really buzzy low range vocal fry for a few minutes and I already started to get a headache several minutes later, leading me to think I'm doing something wrong. Anyways, I did this recording at night so it's at a relat