Vocal Technique used in the studio (Advice Please!)

Rate this topic

sabrinasys

Hi There

Well right now I'm a few weeks away from recording a song at a studio. They will present the song to me the same day/ or finish writing it the same day. I've been singing for more than 6 years, and it's my profession. Negative thoughts are surpassing me, and I'm freaking out right now! I want to go feeling confident. So if anyone can answer the questions below, then thank you sooo much! I don't want to have negative thoughts :(

- Right now I have a decent belting range. It can go up to a 'High E' (an octave higher than middle c-e). And then I can switch to head voice which goes up an octave from the High E. And my lowest, I can go lady gaga bad romance low. Is that a good range to present and have at a studio?

- About vibrato. Where are you supposed to feel it? I normally feel it in my neck, I've got a reaally loose vibrato, any tricks/ exercises on how to control it? Or develop it correctly?

- Speaking vocal terms, what are the basics that should be prepared? like the vibrato... , belting? I know feeling is the top priority! Without feeling, your just singing another song, it doesn't make it special in any sense. I'm working on feeling and character right now.

Are there any REALLY effective exercises I can use/practice for vocal techniques. Like, doing scales and solfege (Do re mi fa sol la ti do) that's effective for the range and pitch, right? Any resources where I can find examples of good scales. Cause, really, all I do is "do do do" on a 5 scale up and down.

Ack! I can't relax, I'm freaking out. One day I'm fine, then the next my mind fishes in negative thoughts. And you know what they say, your thoughts change the world you live in. =( I don't want my negative thoughts to affect my career.

Any help will do! Thank You so much!

- Sabrina :D