Am I bridging or belting chest ?

Rate this topic

Exhale

Hi everybody...

I'm pretty new to singing process. In general I have always loved singing but never thought about how to do it wisely. I would like to hear your comments about this passage.

http://www.box.net/shared/qlrkglqhl0

I Apologize for the wrong lyrics, English - not my mother language, I was singing by ear, as I've heard. But overall, I think you can understand :)

Apologize for the quality of the record, this is a cheap digital pocket recorder. Now I do not have the technical equipment at hand, as am not at home, I'm on vacation. I would like first of all to know am I bridging to head voice or belting chest ?

Best Regards

I am very grateful to everyone for feedbacks. :)

At first I just wanted to know which way I sing, because I heard about the dangers of 'chest belting' or 'pulling chest'.

As I can see from Jens' answer I correspond to CVT modes. I know just a little 'bout them, I bought CVT book 3 months ago and now I'm currently doing the translation. Also i'm doing some exercises from this book from time to time (I have already translated half of the book, covering all the modes).

Here's the second problem and some of my singing biography:

When I sang a long time ago, I did not think that there are some kind of modes and vowel modifications. And the high notes of course experienced discomfort and sometimes pain. I think I was yelling in chest voice or belting (as I think) because I was basically inspired by Iron Maiden and Bruce's type of sound. I had terrible inflamations of the throat. Phoniatrician diagnosed 'developing nodules' and has prescribed injections and vocal rest. After the problem has gone I decided to figure out how to bridge correctly to head voice. I watched tons of Youtube videos and after couple of weeks I found how to bridge rather smoothly. But at that moment my head voice sounded very little like an old lady.