"Holy Diver" - Dio Cover

Rate this topic

GroovyGustavo

Sounds great Groovy. So, let us know what type of training you went through to get to this point. Most of our members are just starting out and getting their feet wet in the singing game.  It would be nice to hear some of your thoughts on singing as well as letting us hear you sing.

Did you just start off singing like this or did you work on the same problems that some of us has faced? Maybe you could add insight on the breathing thread that was started recently. 

Thank you man!

So, for my whole life I've been mostly self-taught, not really "formal training" as you would call it. But what I did do to train my voice was a lot of experimentation, a lot of trial and error of what worked and what didn't and I am STILL in that process. I always wanted to do hard songs from the get go, and some where just not possible at the time, but I still did what I could with them, because not only did it help me become a better singer, it helped my musicality grow as well, to find different ways to sing a song, but always carrying the same message which I feel is essential in singing.

Hell no, I sucked when I was starting. Everyone does, I've probably worked on most problems people have here. Usually to practice something I lack, I pick a song that has a lot that which I don't have. And I practice it until I have it, other people may do scales. But I feel it's a waste of time unless you are having trouble with pitch, then they help. Because in my opinion you're not really going to sing scales in front of a crowd, you're gonna be doing songs and I just prefer to build up my experience singing songs and not have to worry of doing scales and then applying that to singing. But that's just my thinking because I am self-taught, a voice teacher would probably say otherwise, but that is just what helped me.