Despair

Rate this topic

cvineyard

Okay, so I have come to a point where I start to doubt whehter I could ever have a voice like a normal classical singer. I know many people may have asked this question already, but is it possible that some people are just not made to become singers? Is it possible that my voice is just hopeless? I've been singing for five years and I've been taking lessons. I have almost everything except a good voice--I can sight-read very well, stay in tune, learn new music quickly, and I have even overcome a great deal of my stage fright and can do better in actual performances than in practicing. Most importantly, I LOVE singing and I know I will keep singing, and I cannot imagine a life without experiencing music and making music.

That said, however, reality has to be faced. My voice is just hopeless. It is thin and plain, and it pretty much consists of my speaking voice and a few high notes (up to a B, but not the soprano C unless I'm screaming). I cannot blend my voice in the middle--I've tried, for FIVE YEARS, under two different voice teachers, and still cannot do it well. I sing alto in all my choirs, not because I am truly an alto, but because I cannot sing the soprano notes well enough. In truth, my alto notes are not much better, because I sound like a pop singer or simply a speaker among all my fellow altos, whose rich and beautiful voices are at least twice as loud. As much as I love my choirs, it is usually a terrible vocal experience for me, because I can barely go up to an octave above middle C after singing low notes for a while. I know exactly how the music and my voice should sound like, but that's not what comes out of my mouth.