Need help on Mix!

Rate this topic

breeze

Hi there,

I am new here. I've been singing for a couple of months (i think it's been about 6months now), and I discovered some techniques along the way, now I am getting familiar with Brett Manning's Mastering Mix and some exercises from Seth Riggs of American Idol (use it only for warming up). I can hit the high notes, even mix.. but I lose alot of power when I do, and end up either pulling chest voice or losing total control of my voice. After sometime trying hard, I get muscle pain in my back, and in my abdomen area, when I try even harder even in my throat (but I learned not to try that hard as I MUST be doing some thing wrong)

This is an attempt at Bon Jovi's Always (Sorry for the bad recording quality):

http://www.box.net/shared/6pgzcxgmex

Please ignore the bad timings, and out of key parts (as I am fully aware of these)

This is another attempt at Guns N' Roses' My Michelle.. Sometimes I feel I'm doing great sometimes I feel loss of power, and try as hard as I can not to 'lose it' in order to stay in the head bridge somehow:

http://www.box.net/shared/cho2z4zvoe

I would appreciate if I had some advice on my matter, and how to improve, I know the singing is no good, thats why I need help on this matter. What do you think I'm doing wrong? I try to start my head voice from a lower range sometimes but it sounds to 'girly', and not natural, even with the twang, so sometimes I need to pull a bit my chest voice to get to my head voice. I really lose control in my mix, and sound weak! (And feel weak). :(

Thanks in advance :)

I guess this is not the right forum for advise.. as it seems that no one really cares to help..

please also realize that while we are all here to learn and improve and help each other no one here has any obligatory duty to reply. replies are optional.

I guess this is not the right forum for advise.. as it seems that no one really cares to help..