Confusion with Breathing Technique!

Rate this topic

bigfoot

Hi Guys,

I've just joined the forum last week (but have been browsing through over the last couple of months) so this is my first post!

I own CVT, RSV and Singing Success (with Mastering Mix).. I've been using Brett Manning's products for a couple of years and its helped to an extent, but I wanted to move on to something more suited to my singing style (classic rock and blues mostly - Zeppelin (someday!), Cream, Clapton, Stevie Ray Vaughn some Pearl Jam etc)..

While reading through CVT and RSV I came across a fundamental difference in the breathing techniques mentioned -

1. CVT says that you should NOT visualize going to the loo in order to provide support as it can lead to a hernia!!! Also the process of inhaling is a bit different - CVT states that the lower abdomen should be pulled in, and only the solar plexus should expand outwards while inhaling..

2. Jaime Vendera says you should push downwards like going to the loo, as it gives a lot more support for the high notes. Also he talks about expanding the entire diaphragm, abdomen, ribs and chest (outwards, not upwards) for taking in the maximum oxygen.

CVT mentions that if this is done, it'll constrict the air flow in the throat..

Does anyone have any views on this? I'm a bit confused.. I've tried both, and to be honest, I'm obviously doing something wrong coz I still cant seem to support my singing properly - my voice gets hoarse very soon when i attempt to go high. (I've been singing for 2-3 years with singing success but it doesnt really teach proper breathing)

Would appreciate any inputs.