get to the folds!

Rate this topic

VideoHere

hi folks,

i guess i get off on writing new posts and although i'm no expert, i come up with these deductions that i want to share with you in street language because i feel it can help...or we can discuss it and all share our perspectives.

here's a big one....i call it "get to the folds"...make a beeline to the folds!

i have found one of the biggest successes you can have is when you've gotten to the point where the vocal folds are so unemcumbered by any constrictors that they are free to do their primary job, make pitch changes. you can almost feel like your flicking or brushstroking the folds for pitch change.....especially felt on vowels like "ah," "ee,"

and "oh."

the folds feel like they're in your soft palette rather than in your larynx, your larynx feels absent from your throat. your soft palatte feels tall and feels like it's tapers to a point at the top. (actually, your hard palatte can also feel that way too.)

i can't be the only one feeling these sensations, but when you hit a note and get this ring, this pinging sound, the pitch is virtually guaranteed to be spot on too. you get this release..oh, it's awesome!

i urge you to seek out and discover for yourselves this sensation....this ring...believe that this ring and ping is now mandatory.

here's what appears to be the requisites for this to happen, at least for me:

the neck is relaxed and slightly elongated towards the back, not jutting forward.

the tongue is relaxed, tip where it has to be

the mouth is shaped into a yawn or apple-biting shape (so important for me)

the larynx is neutral or can be slightly lowered

the knees are slightly bent

the pelvis and butt cheeks slightly tensed inward

you focus the tone into the soft palette, as if any lower is impossible

breath bupport is mandatory.

biggest thing: