Connections between singing and hours spent talking?

Mr Bounce

Hey all!

I've been thinking about this idea for a long time; that simply speaking a lot seems to help the voice. I have had periods in the last few years (during which I started learning to sing) where I didn't have a lot going on and would barely speak at all (half an hour or less for a whole day) for extended periods of time (weeks, months). In the space of only a few months or less, now as I have started speaking much more in my daily life, there is an extremely obvious change in my singing voice! I feel like my voice is working properly and my experience is now about learning the skills of singing rather than struggling with getting frustrated by the physicality; vocal folds that just didn't do anything!

It makes sense to me that the vocal apparatus would not stay in good order if they are never used except for a fraction of the day spent vocalising and singing.

Has anyone got anything to share on this particular aspect of singing?

It depends on how you speak. If you allow yourself to phonate naturally at whatever pitch is natural and resonates, then yes, speaking will help the singing voice. Whispering and speaking in husky low tones not only trains the voice downward, it also allows too much air to pass and dry out the cords.

I have to watch myself. I am on the phone all day, so I can't be hollering in peoples' ear or in the phone but I also can't let everything just drop and bottom out in order to "be quiet." So, I have been making sure I allow my voice to change pitch as it will naturally. And to phonate fully and comfortably, with no force.