That Robert Plant sound

waitwhat

Hey you guys, this is more a general question than me wanting to do a cover, or anything. Any tips on getting the tone Robert Plant does? To get more specific, his high notes just tend to have real power to them. I don't mean I want to sound just like him, I mean I want to add that wail to my high notes.

Also, can anyone point me in the directions of some exercises for rasping/screaming(not the screamo type screams. The bluesy rasps/screams. Again, like Plant)? And also just explain it to me a bit, 'cause I'm a bit skeptical. I've heard about how they engage the false vocal folds to rasp. But does it -actually- not damage the voice? 'Cause to me they sound more or less the same. Granted, I'm not an expert of the rasping/screaming technique(that's why I'm here, asking this).

This question is after a few hours of listening to Black Dog and Kashmir on repeat, so if you'd like to help me out, and use those songs as reference, that'd be great.

Pointing you in some directions: First try the search button on this forum and look for rasp, distortion, screaming, creaking, etc. Secondly, get some vocal program that teaches this. The ones that I have that teach this and I recommend are Mark Baxter's 5 secrets of screaming, Jamie Vendera's Raise your voice and the CVT book. You can also send me an email if you have more questions. I'm in the process of developing a system of exercises for this type of singing. There are also several good screamers on this forum that could give you tips.

Ya know, I think getting rasp/distortion is all about experimenting, really. I found it on my own while just playing around with my voice. If your technique is right, meaning your breathing and support, then go ahead and experiment with adding the rasp. Jaime Vendera teaches this stuff. In fact, he just put out a one-of-a-kind screaming lesson that you can check out here www.screaminglessons.com