How do I coach my vocalist? Is she using her voice properly?

mikegug

First off, thanks for taking my question.

Second, here's the background info. I am a parent/band manager of a talented teen Christian rock band. The vocalist is a 16 year old girl. Great voice. Limited training. We do ballads to medium-hard rock songs (some Contemporary Christian Music covers and some originals).

Issue: my vocalist likes the pop scene style music. She has a good ability to hit a note dead on, but she frequently chooses to hit the note a full tone or a semi-tone flat and then "slide up" to the correct tone in the pop star style (ala Miley Cyrus/Taylor Swift). This frustrates me because 1. I see this as a cheater type of technique used by vocalist who can't hit the note dead on and 2. that's not our band's style.

I've never had vox training and I don't know how to direct her. Will you please help me flush out the issues here and help me direct her?

Please tell me if I am wrong anywhere. You won't hurt my feelings, I promise. :)

Can she control it? Is it stylistic? Is it turning fans away?

Maybe sit her down, explain what you see, and try to teach her how to 'not' do it. And once she can have control, give her the final say? That's how I'd do it.

For pitching differently, you might actually have her first try singing sharp and sliding down to the note. Or mentally visualizing landing on 'top' of the note. But maybe best give her a drone note (piano whatever), and encourage her to bend above and below it until she gets acquainted with it.

Ear training in general would also be very good (interval training singing and recognizing pitch changes)

http://www.musictheory.net/exercises/ear-interval/9989yby

But if she's like a lot of 16 year old people I know, that would be 'boring.'

I guess bottom line, if she's serious she will want vocal control, even if in the end she still loves flat to sharp bends that annoy you!

First off, thanks for taking my question.