Hey, you wanna Trade?

Rate this topic

markgrubb@gmail.com

I have never collected anything until I started studying voice. I am now blessed with a significant library of vocal pedagogy's I have purchased from all over the world. I have always been a seeker of knowledge, and I am fascinated with the voice. Once in a while I receive an e-mail stating the sender read some of my posts on themodernvocalist and would like to 'trade' some vocal products or would like to 'know how to get a deal' on said products.

I understand why they are asking. I grew up very poor and when I was not in school or studying I was working. I understand. However, I would like to save us both some time and disappointment in simply disclosing that I do not 'trade'/pirate.

Though the marketing behind some of these products claim some secrets to unlock your voice and as a student of voice it is very enticing to want to believe in these secrets, what these products really represent is a lifetime of investment and discovery packaged into the author's best presentation of this information. Though some of these products may seem expensive at $99 plus U.S. dollars, the amount of money invested in the author training his / her own voice and acquiring this information / resources can exceed $250K U.S dollars. The production of some of these products often require significant investment as well.

Many of the authors of these products I have been blessed to develop a relationship with and they are my friends. Don't ask me to steal, and don't ask me to steal from my friends.

Most all of the authors of said vocal products pay their rent via the sale of these products and the teaching of voice. If they are not paid for their work then they will be paying their rent via working at something else, thus quality vocal training will largely cease to be available to you. Do you really want to try to learn to sing from questionable sources offering free lessons on YouTube?