What is the name of this style and Vocalist bible

Rate this topic

freezer01

Hey all, I'm brand new to this crossing over from, Djing/producing and so far i'm loving it :)

Can someone please tell me the name of this style/ technique. Also is there any reading that people could recommend something that covers a wide range of training exercises and maintaining vocal health as i'm new I really want to spend majority of my time on training and development. I'm also snowed in with reading material at the moment so was hoping for one really well known book ie the holy grail of vocals/ singing :)

Cheers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=16bRiH5zfOY

Cheers Admin, such a helpful comment! This is probably a better example,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lBabMxnFQsQ (it starts around 1:08)

What i'm getting at is she isn't actually saying anything but she's creating amazing sound/ melody with her voice. Its a style i'm really drawn toward.

Cheers

I would really recommend the book Complete Vocal Technique, at least to read it through once. It's very very good and covers a lot of aspects of singing. If you are totally new to singing, it might be a bit much to take in. Also they don't use the "regular terms" of chest voice, head voice etc. but uses 4 vocal "modes" instead. Vocal terminology is a jungle wherever you look though.

CVT don't contain a set number of excercises to do in a certain order, rather it provides you with everything and you can pick and choose what excercises you need. There's other set programs that you just follow along to, wich might be easier. None the less, I suggest a read through of that book.

Personally I do like James Lugo's "Vocal Asylum" and Ken Tamplins "KTVA" for set programs, I've found them both quite helpfull. Haven't had personal experience with Robert Lunte's program "Pillars 2.0", but I'm sure it's great too. And if you are going for pop and not rock singing, I think you could benefit from Brett Manning's "Singing Success" as well.