no bridge

Rate this topic

lordadon

i'm a bass, I can bring my head voice down to C2 and up to... whatever that is in machine gunn eddie. Anyways, i've been working at it for at least 2 years and there's just no bridge, and no mixed voice. I've resorted to staying in belt but my belt can only go so high before it starts to sound very strained and i have to push intensely to sustain it. I've tried all the exercises for 'mix' or bridging, and done the whole laying on your back, leaning over, standing on your head, hanging upside down, whatever, i think i just dont have it, eh?

what exactly do you mean by this? first, what do you mean by head voice? i find it hard to believe you can take it down to a C2 which is below chest for most people (if we are talking c2 as in america... idk if its different for you). are you calling it head because of the sensations you feel? im a bass too, and i feel "head" vibrations in my whole range. you should definitely post a recording explaining these things, and you belting and the same thing in head voice. even just a recording with a phone if its all you have, then someone could definitely help!

Below are two tracks from my emerging band Tasavuh. I belt on both of them, and it works for the style, though i still allways work to progress in both the singing and guitar playing. You can hear my comfort range in both of these pretty much. You see with belting the higher notes sound classical ish... almost bruce dickenson like, except with a lower voice.

http://soundcloud.com/adonfanion/throne

http://soundcloud.com/adonfanion/missions-traveler-tasavuh

You can like tasavuh on facebook.

HEAD VOICE for me sounds exactly like when brett manning does it. it connects to whistle sometimes and it is a very light thing almost squeek, and yes i can get it down to C2, that may be hard to believe but i worked at it for quite a while.

**EDIT** i apologize for the bad mixing, I'm still working on perfecting it, and these are earlier uploads.