How to yell/scream into a mic and not sound like crap? examples inside

Rate this topic

SymCL

First post here. What's up?

I realize this punk/rock vocal style that's comprised of yelling and screaming is not everyone's cup of tea. But it seems to be an art in itself that has a technique to it.

I am an English major and write a ton of poetry about absolutely nothing, and I've been talking with some people about putting it over music. The music would be aggressive and punkish, but still musical -- the people who I've been talking to know music, and I have some theory knowledge and experience with bass and guitar.

Anyways, I'm in a bit over my head as I have zero vocal experience. I can kind of sing and have been singing along to Guns N Roses and Queen, even though Axel and Freddie go way out of my range (which is E2 to C4). I can hit a lot of notes properly, or come close, but my singing sounds "strangled", like I don't have the breathing down.

I am not trying to be a flashy vocalist. The words I say and how I say them is way more important to me than showing off. But how do I not suck? Why do some screaming vocalists sound like a construction worker, while others actually sound musical? I have heard anything screamed/sung/whatever should be produced from your diaphragm and stomach muscles and then is FILTERED by your vocal cords. And you should be trying to spit every word you speak at the wall on the far side of the room. These are true in poetry readings.

But beyond that, how do I sound competent?

Some examples of vocalists in this style who make it work:

Keith Buckley from Every Time I Die -- I am VERY interested in how he is doing his vocals. I feel like a large part of it is his knowledge of the English language (read his lyrics from the album Hot Damn!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwayK88aMqc

Dennis Lyxzén from Refused.

The dude from Avenged Sevenfold (only their first album)

Kurt Cobain on some songs