Absolute Beginner Studying Classical

Rate this topic

jjynn

I'm an absolute beginner and I've just had my first lesson in classical vocal training, and I feel like a toddler thrown into deep water that's told to swim!

Does anyone have any tips and exercises for someone like me? I'm already practicing the song, "A La Claire Fontaine" for an RCM exam, but I need tons of help. How do I resonate my voice so that its more "forward"? Dipthong exercises? I have a lot to learn and anything will be appreciated

Ya sounds like a lot of work and practice. Slow down the song, so that when you sing a note / lyric, you can put a lot of resonance into it. If you work at full song speed, your muscles will want to skip over the full phonations and won't get the proper feeling.

You can also try exaggerating your torso/ribcage/arms/hand as you sing. That depends on how you feel when you sing, but if it works for you, it might make more dramatic feeling to the piece, which might save your booty!

I'm going to be the twerp that says, if you are paying for voice lessons, do what your teacher says. If you don't want to do what your teacher says, quit going and save some money. Why pay the money to get a lesson and then ask for advice somewhere that may counteract the advice of your teacher? Unless your teacher is really bad. In which case, quit going.

I think I said that in my "outside voice."

Well done on your first lesson, You are certainly not a toddler in a big pool, the lessons are controlled (i.e. range, phrase length, breath points ... etc)

Your first lesson, likely would have gone over "bit" of posture (knees, arm (hand) / shopping bags, chin (as it likely started to rise) and other stuff like that. Can you advise what she / he had you doing musically (range wise.