Beginner looking for feedback on his voice!

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hey guys and girls!

I'm an amateur, never been to a coach or anything like that - please tell me what I should and should not do!

Check out the recording here:

Thanks in advance!

Actually there was something about that I liked. It was different than the original and it was kind of ...hmmm...haunting? I'm not sure of the arrangement as it seemed down and sad and I'm not sure that is the message conveyed by the original or the lyrics. But I would have liked it even more if I never heard the original. But on its own I thought it was good in some way.

I can see where some may want to correct your technique but for me, I am hesitant because I'd like to hear other songs from you. The reason being, I think you might possibly have a certain personal style to your voice and to me that is a good thing. maybe it shouldn't be changed. So I suppose any real critique then would depend on your goals as a singer.

Something I did notice though is that at times it wasn't uniform in the melody. Toward the middle to 3/4 point where you have a couple of higher notes, it was a little bit of a mismatch, I thought. maybe some slight stretching. You could work on that.

Your tone was good. Like I said, sort of your own style.

Keep at it and let's hear some other stuff. :)

Thanks a lot for the feedback - means very much to me!:)

About the arrangement I didn't try to make it that sad, but I guess it wasn't a bad thing after all that it sort of took a detour from the original!

I really haven't thought too much about my goals as a singer yet, but I think I'm interested in developing a good/better technique on how to use my voice so that I could further express myself through singing.

I guess I'm trying to build a good awareness on my own voice, so I know what I should correct and what I should do different.

I'll be sure to record something a bit different the next time