How to choose audition songs

Rate this topic

MattB

Hi all,

I've been taking voice lessons for a couple years now and am dying to put it to some use. I haven't been able to hook up with a band yet, and am thinking it will be fun to try to audition for one of these TV competition shows like The Voice or America's Got Talent or something. I don't have any illusions about actually making it lol, but I think it will be fun and excellent practice and experience.

I need to pick out a few songs to prepare. I know that song choice is very important, but having never done it before I'm not sure what to look for. What kinds of things should I look for when choosing an audition song?

Thanks!

I'm no expert at this but from a general instinct and somewhat obvious standpoint I would say this.

First off change this attitude.

I don't have any illusions about actually making it

Go in with a winning attitude, always.

I would think that a song choices would be ones that showcase your strong points but hide the weak. Don'y try to impress if you can't or are unsure. I like songs that draw people in and make them want more but some of those songs don't show range (if that's your thing). Then you need to rely on emotion.

If you have more than one song I wouldn't do them all similar. That makes you seem like a one trick pony. On the flip side I would't think showing off is good either by singing all kinds of stuff that doesn't actually show what "you" are about. Pick songs that are you but (if more than one) show various abilities.

Bottom line, the first song has to wow them. What makes you stand out among the rest. A "style' usually helps. Something your own. Don't try to sound like...

• Administrator

Actually Matt, I have to agree with Tommy.