Complete Beginner looking for critique and advice

• TMV World Legacy Member

i hate the sound of my voice but I want to be able to sing very badly. i have never had any coaching or lessons or anything, or even sang in front of anyone because i am way to embarrassed about how bad it sounds.i know it sounds awful but if you have any tips, advice, rec's, or critiques they are all welcome. also if you could rate it that would be appreciated.

thanks

http://youtu.be/hCIRY0z5ALw

the vid is a 1st run take through a couple songs off the top of my head

I don't know those songs but whatever they were your singing and vocal style fit, that's for sure! I actually enjoyed that. I'ts kind of been an odd couple of weeks as I've seen a few "beginner" singers coming here asking for opinions and each has had an interesting voice or style.

Now, this is only coming from me so what I say plus a dollar is probably worth a cup of coffee. I'm sure there could be critiques from those thinking a little too much about big singing voices or more difficult music styles. And if you were looking to sing classical music, opera, screaming metal or a host of other genre then you may need more instruction and they would be right. I find that for me even singing blues, which many view as simple, or even straight rock tunes, I am still working on vocal issues. But as far as my opinion goes, for what you just sang, if that is the type of music you're looking to sing then your voice fits right now and I'm diggin' it!!

That was very interesting.

Hey there amatuer!