Newbie here: Couple of larynx related questions

Rate this topic

DDisNow

Hey all,

I've been reading this forum a lot, and find it extremely informative with tons of great info, a tremendous resource indeed.

I have a couple of questions for which I was not able to find a concrete answer.

1 - Are the following pretty much all one in the same?

Singing with an "open throat", lifting the soft palate, Singing with a low larynx.

It seems to me these are all different terms for pretty much the same thing, am I correct?

2 - In most teaching variations of SLS they say you should keep your larynx stable, without moving up or down too much.

They say the reasons are if you move it down, then the swallowing muscles will come down and constrict your air/sound.

However, most non SLS teachings advise lowering the larynx as the air flow is better and the tone is much rounder.

I also find that to be the case and prefer the way my voice sounds with a slightly lowered larynx.

So does that mean these mean ol' swallowing muscles are coming down and constricting me?

I placed my thumbs under my jaw (while lowering the larynx) and couldn't really feel any muscles intruding or constrictions.

So I'm confused, why do they say it's dangerous when:

1 - It sounds better with a slightly lowered larynx?

2 - I can't feel any constriction whatsoever?

Thanks and appreciate your input!

When you swallow, the larynx RISES, meets the bump known as the "false vocal folds" (though they are not folds at all but a mucus membrane that forms a little ridge) and the epiglottis covers all of that.

So, lowering the larynx is not analagous to swallowing.