Very concerned about my voice (help/advice?)

Rate this topic

richig761

Hi, first time poster here. I have been having some concerns with my voice over the past week, and I really don't have anywhere else to turn. I'm a 20 year old male vocalist in a metal band. We also play some hardcore, so I do a good amount of screaming as well. I've been performing for a couple of years now, and I've never had any vocal issues or concerns until now. I play one or two sets a weekend (half or hour each). I practice at least a little almost everyday.

Last week, I was practicing with the band as usual. I had been messing around with some new vocal sounds as of late. I really had no idea what I was doing (which I realize was my first mistake)... I guess I was just getting bored with my usual schtick and wanted to try something new. Last week, all of the sudden in the middle of singing... this migraine started to come over me. I knew this was because what I was doing was incorrect, and bad for me. Not enough oxygen getting to my brain, etc... so I stopped singing immediately. I'm not the most trained vocalist in the world, but I have enough formal training to know when I'm doing something bad for me.

So a couple days later, I come back in to work with the band again. I begin to warm up, and notice something isn't all there. There's no pain or anything... my voice just sounded shallow and hoarse at some points. So we begin to play, and I just sound straight up bad. My voice felt so weak, and forget about screaming. I would reach back for a scream, and there was literally nothing there. So, once again... I stop almost immediately. I also notice that my throat feels tight, and possibly a little swollen. I felt a slight discomfort, but nothing too bad at all.