Some basic questions about jazz singing and practicing

Rate this topic

Tombolino

Hi friends,

I have some questions about jazz singing.

Besides playing guitar, I recently started taking voice lessons and have been learning some jazz standards (mostly bossa novas). I have the opportunity to play casually with some jazz folks every week and sing a couple of tunes.

I start by fetching lyrics, getting an mp3 of an version I like and then find a karaoke track of the song.

Im trying to figure out in what key I should sing and practice the songs I'm learning.

-What computer software or apps let you change the key of the mp3?

-How do I figure out what key I should sing the song in? (of course, I know it has to be in a range I can do but I often wonder if should push for ranges I can do that are harder or ...what?

-What programs do you use to chart your songs when there is no fake book available for that song or I dont like the arrangement?

Thank you!

Hi Tombolino

I am not an expert Jazz singer (or expert any singer !) but I played Jazz piano for a good few years and used to sing a bit so hopefully this will help.

Regarding which keys to concentrate on, I would say Eb is the main one - someone once told me that as many jazz songs originated on horn instruments the flattened keys (e.g. Eb, Bb etc) were used. Contrast this with a lot of rock music that is played on string instruments (guitar, bass etc). Loads of songs seem to be in G, D etc - these keys tend to have sharpened notes...If you look in many of the printed 'fake books' available, you'll see that the songs are in Eb especially.

About transposing software - I'd recommend Transcribe - here's a link...

http://www.seventhstring.com/xscribe/overview.html

Its a very good bit of software. I bought it a few years ago.

Hope this helps

Z