Upper Range "Compressed", Seeking Causes

Rate this topic

dcooley

Hi. New to the forum. I did a quick search for similar symptoms but wasn't able to find anything that seemed to match up.

I am a professional vocalist, singing pop/rock material in a band as well as being classically trained and doing choral work from time to time. I also direct a small men's glee club. I am not trained in pedagogy. I have a 2.5 octave range from an octave and a half below middle C to an octave above middle C. I'm nearly 50, and while I do sing in a band, I also do all the things you are supposed to do to keep your voice in good shape. I do not smoke and generally hydrate like mad during periods when I'm actively singing. In general, I sing in front of people every month or two, so I'm not overworking my voice in terms of time.

Two days ago, I started having symptoms of a problem I had back in 2003. I can best characterize the problem as being that my voice is fairly normal as I move up in range, but when I approach my break (E above middle C) I start to have trouble hitting the pitch. By the time I get to the break, I am completely unable to hit the pitch, and attempts to sing higher just stay at the same pitch. It's like my brain thinks "A" and my voice sings something below E. It's very frustrating, sort of like playing a piano that is so out of tune that the notes don't progress in a sequential manner.