Voice Characterization and singing

Rate this topic

MDEW

I imitate cartoon and celebrity voices. I am also a Musician and Singer. I have no trouble with my lower range.

James Taylor, Jim Croce, even Elton John I have no trouble with. But, My higher range never sounds like me.

I know I can sing higher notes. I sing along with BG's, Aretha Franklin, Beachboys high harmony and can sing the notes. The problem is it sounds more like Aretha Franklin, Miss Piggy, Elmo or maybe a munchkin from the Wizard of Oz.

I am male by the way. The reason I mentioned imitating Cartoon voices and celebrity voices is this. When I am imitating a voice I can jump right into it. the pitch is not a question. Elmo and Miss Piggy are definately above G4.

Mickey Mouse of course is What we refer to as falsetto. Miss Piggy and Elmo are definately not. Some Voices are Charaterized by their Accent. Jeff Foxworthy has what i would call Southern Twang.

Do you feel that there is an Accent For Mixed voice or one that would describe the sound of E4 - G4 ?

The most likely reason you can imitate those rooms so well is that you are adding a ton of twang to get compression when you imitate . When you are trying to sing real high you may be over twanging.

Thank you for your reply.

I have recently read about over twanging and over compressing. If you over compress it will be harder to get the note started and the cords would be to stiff to vibrate freely. But then again, isn't over twanging the way you're supposed to get rock type distortion?

Thank you for your reply.

I have recently read about over twanging and over compressing. If you over compress it will be harder to get the note started and the cords would be to stiff to vibrate freely. But then again, isn't over twanging the way you're supposed to get rock type distortion?

Along with a TON of support . Why not post something you are singing as an example ?

So, sing like Miss Piggy. What do you think Brian Johnson does?