Epiglottis in Mix versus headmix/head

Rate this topic

DoverOs

I was wondering what was the difference in epiglottis between Mix and the upper headmix/head registers.

So in the upper head mix, the support is more constricting and pushed. So when the epiglottis manages to release, the head dominance comes through, but TA resonance is basically cut off, with only enough TA to sustain the mode.

While over in the Mix, the support isn't as pushed/constricted, which allows the TA to build resonance up to the correct pitch, without the epiglottis ever getting in the way.

Am I getting the right idea?

As a singer I would love to hear an example of the "So in the upper head mix, the support is more constricting and pushed. So when the epiglottis manages to release, the head dominance comes through, but TA resonance is basically cut off, without only enough TA to sustain the pitch." what you said.;) I'm absolutely baffled. And I've been a professional no bullshit money making singer for 20+ yrs but this kind of talk has gone on long enough unless your a dr.

Please give me an example in vocalise and song

I'm so exited to hear this.

Keep in mind I have read just about every book on singing out there and this sound like ground breaking material

And Dover I can't wait to speak with you. Do not take offense to my sarcasm but I do want to hear this stuff

Peace

Okay, I'll rephrase it. Let's take a range of g4-a5 for a guy. Without proper mix, the notes can be sung, but it's largely CT dominant and has a strained feel.

But with Mix in the same range, you learn to build the resonance you get in TA, without it being as strained.

So from that concept, I'm assuming that the epiglottis is the key point of the strain. And if it's certainly stems from that muscle, then what are the differences.