New guy needs advice

Rate this topic

Ozone

Hey, I'm new to the forum. I've been singing for a while now. Well actually I've been singing for a couple years now, but just now I've decided to take this singing thing seriously and try and become a better vocalist.

Actually, I'm just a 17 year old guitarist :D who got stuck as the lead singer of my band cause we couldn't find a good lead vocalist. And cause the other guys felt that I was the best singer of the bunch, I got thrown in front of the mic....

I don't have a vocal couch just get, but I've got pretty good pitch(if I do say so myself...). I know the difference between head voice, chest voice falsetto and all of that stuff. I've been having some trouble nailing those high notes(go figure :D). My range (without breaking in to falsetto or head voice) is from about D2 to (when I'm really warmed up) C5. I'm most comfortable in the C3-F4 range. I think I'm a baritone, not sure thought.....The one thing whats really confusing is that everyone on the internet (well, every male singer at least) says that their "breaking point" is at E4-F4. So when I sing those high notes(ie. A5-C5) before my break am I belting chest tones or am I in fact singing in my mix? (Sorry if that didn't make any sense, I'm kinda new to vocalist-lingo :D).

I've recorded myself (with my cellphone..) singing those high notes and they sound pretty decent and don't seem forced. However, sing an B or C5 doesn't feel that great.... Sometimes my larynx rises up quite a lot(feels like I'm choking...), and the tone isn't ideal. It sounds (and feels) a bit thin and doesn't have a lot of power. My neck tenses up a little and I just doesn't feel "right". It's not like it's causing any pain or anything like that :D but it sure as hell does't feel good. Do you have any exercises etc. to help with stabilizing my larynx and singing high notes with power ?