Vocal Exercises

Rate this topic

maverick323

Hello, I am new to vocal exercises and am hoping for some insight.

1) On a vocal exercise meant to build stamina like 1234543210123456789 and back down are you suppose to sing higher as you go up or louder? I have heard both.

2) On certain exercises using words like WE and WU is it normal to sing higher than normal. I sound more like a women singing in an opera style. When I try to sing a bit lower I feel scratchiness in my throat.

maverick323 - there are so many exercises out there for different things. The one you are talking about, a typical scalar exercise, is normally done by starting with 1 on a low note, like C3, then up a half step and repeat. Keep on going up by half steps until it gets uncomfortably too high, then back down. Normally, you'd use a consistent loudness all the way through. But some teachers might want you to do something else with this exercise. I'm only suggesting what I've normally been exposed to.

As for your 2nd question, different vowels work differently on different pitches, and as you go higher and higher, the vowels start to meld together.

Scratchiness in your throat is not a good sign. I wouldn't push it with that sensation.

Hey there :)