Kellin Quinn's technique and The Four Pillars of Singing

Rate this topic

Bushfire

I'm only 18 but and I've been singing for about 2 years. I took lessons for about 6 months but didn't feel they were helping so I stopped. I originally was singing softer stuff like Ed Sheeran. Lately I've started to try to sing more pop-punk songs but I'm finding I just don't have the range for it. My ultimate goal would be able to sing in a range similar to Kellin Quinn's from Sleeping With Sirens. Here is an example of what his voice normally sounds like:

And if you skip to about 0:32 you can hear him sing a G5:

Right now I can only hit G4 or maybe A#4 at the highest but it's uncomfortable, so I have a lot of work to do. I also still don't really have a good sense of head voice and don't really have a clear picture of the difference between it and falsetto (my old teacher knew little about the difference too, so he just had me singing in falsetto).

I was thinking about investing in the 4 pillars, but I'm wondering whether or not it would be a good starting point for me to learn the techniques I need to sing in this range/ this style of music, or if I should look to other resources instead. Also, if anyone could tell me what kind of exercises I should be working on to accomplish these kinds of notes/ the tonality of his notes, it would be greatly appreciated.

4 pillars is very good. But I would recommend doing everything you can to also save up for a few lessons with Rob so he can give you some personal guidance, and record them for future reference. Without the lessons along with it, you are at risk of misinterpreting the program, doing everything wrong, getting nothing out of it.

Also if that is above your budget, check out Phil Moufarrege for skype lessons, he is the most bang-for-the-buck vocal teacher I've found.