How to get fuller/richer sound?

Rate this topic

Singingnewbie

Consciously lowering the larynx is okay if you do it right, and don't overdo it.

Best advice as always would be to take private lessons with a great vocal teacher. I recommend skype lessons with Rob Lunte or Phil Moufarrege.

Obtaining "rich and full highs" takes months to years to develop and will take even longer if you're self taught or studying with a crummy teacher, so if you can afford it, the smartest thing to do to get there is to make the investment in good training to help speed up the process. Whereas just asking a forum you're get some conflicting and unqualified answers which will make you confused and won't lead you down a direct path to the result you want. Individual attention from a teacher keeps things in focus. And self-study vocal programs are an okay alternative but still not as good as private lessons in my experience.

Anyways, good luck. There is no one secret to it, you just have to train for a while and eventually you'll shape your tone into what you want it to sound like

What you can also do is to send a clip of your singing and where you want it improved.

To sing like Bruce Dickinson you will learn singing like that safely with a vocal coach. I also tries to learn things myself, and we are sort of teaching ourselves singing becoz we need to listen to our bodies, so a singing teacher is sometimes more of a guidance. They go the knowledge to guide you the right way.

While you lower the larynx, you NEED to remember to keep hold of your twanger. While you lower the larynx, you might wanna keep the vocal cords "forward". For some people, keeping the sound focused into your head cavities might also be a tool. Remember these are only sensations. You cant move the vocal cords forward anywhere. But your mind plays a big part on what it responds to when learning new muscle coordinations related to singing = vocal techniques.

Good luck and keep us updated.