singing these kind of high notes?

Rate this topic

Benns

Hi guys,

forgive me for my lack of knowledge. I am still new to this ha. Anyways, as i may have stated in my previous threads, i am currently taking sls singing lessons to sing in my middle/mixed (it's one of the two lol). Anyways, it's only recently that i understood what the middle voice is. Anyways, i have always admired singers who can reach those really high notes. From my understanding of sls middle voice, the aim is to create a one voice which can go low and high and still sound the same..(correct me, if i'm wrong lol).

Anyways, i was wondering if these high notes that these singers sing with the middle voice that i will acheive soon? Again, pleease correct me if they are singing in falesstto or something.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MaY4MPPrJvQ - 0;02;39

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xJHXPqtKi8g - 2.26

- 0.48, 1.19-2.01, 2.01

- 3.03 and 3.28 and 3.52

Sorry, about the links haha. It's just something that has been bugging me for some time, now haha

There are a bunch of different things going on in these video at those time stamps. Some are falsetto, some are head voice... While trying not to get into a huge long discussion about what falsetto and head voice are, lets just say that head voice has a non airy sound, while falsetto has an airy quality and lacks the "bite" of head voice.

The second video at 2:26 is a pharyngeal scream. These pro singers that have great technique are always mixing. Having "one voice" is the goal of most every vocal plan. We call it "full voice" here. I answered as best as I can with the knowledge that I posses. If you want more scientific explanations, go to the science section and search for vocal modes and closed quotient - that should put you in a thread all about the degree of muscular activity in each of the vocal modes.