notes and breath placement

Rate this topic

bigmike092

This must sound like a complete beginner's question, but if your singing a high note, does it resonate in a different part of the mouth than if you sing a low note.

cause for a while i was trying to figure out where exactly in the mouth i should aim the breath whether it was more towards the back or front. but then i tried singing with only focusing on the hard palate and i think i notice when i sing a low note it's more towards the back of the mouth and a higher note is more towards the front and i was wondering if that was correct.

or is it vertical in that higher notes ring higher in the head and lower notes lower?

I personally aim more to the back the higher I go and more to the front the lower I go, but this stuff is so subjective...

Unless you are studying with a teacher who can guide you through it, don't even worry about placing notes anywhere. Let them go wherever, experiment, and then if it ever happens to sound and feel really good, take note of that sensation, repeat it over and over again, and memorize where the note feels placed.

But it can hard to actually make sense of the placement correctly on your own without a teacher's guidance, because what one singer might perceive as forward another might perceive as aiming the sound back more...it can get pretty ambiguous.

IMO a less ambiguous way to learn these sensations is by sound and feel, instead of trying to assign a visual direction to it. Listening to and watching your favorite singers and trying to sing in a similar manner helps a lot if you need to get there without lessons.

Things to look for: mouth shape, tongue position, posture, how much effort they look like they're putting in

Things to listen for: vowel shade, how they are changing the vowel from its pure form and at what pitches, intensity, amount of airiness vs. brassiness, darkness vs. brightness in the tone, etc.