New user , How do you sing louder than spoken volume ?

Rate this topic

Batsinthebelltower

Hi guys

Title says it all - I am new to singing and posted my first song in the "critique" section - hopefully youre not too critical lol !

How do i get that louder open singing sound , as opposed to just spoken word level ? I find that i am half singing half speaking ... I am thinking it is a combination of learning technique and getting past the apprehension of opening up... I can write good songs but have never been able to put vocals to them .

I recently discovered a finnish singer Ari Koivunen , who has a HUGE voice - Id really be able to project my voice like him ! In the video they just seem to have infinite air flow , and sing so loud without shouting ... The second video is when he was a kid on finish pop idol , but he still has that huge projection ...

Any advice would be great !

Try this: Sing a sustained long note, very long, starting very soft and then very gradually increase the volume until you are as loud as you can be. Try your best not to tense your throat too much when you do this. Imagine (that can be very helpful) that your voice is actually growing inside of you while your body is one big resonator - as opposed to PUSHING the sound out. You LET it out instead. That's a start. Now, do this on various pitches. Next, record it and post it here so we can give you more pointers. Cheers and have a nice day.

For louder than speaking voice in singing: Think back to a time when you were being accused of something or scolded for something that you did not do. More likely than not you stood your ground and said something like "I DID NOT DO THAT!" IN that instance you had "Support and "Cord closure" that helped those words be strong and loud. These are two things that help you sing. Even a soft, gentle song needs these two things.

i would like to add by saying that singing loud (better said,resonant) and powerfully begins at the mind...