How to make your own "lesson" with CVT?

Rate this topic

leezuh

So I'm used to Mastering Mix and having a full vocal lesson on every disk. I'm worrying now that when I'm creating my own lessons with CVT that I'm going to miss something. Also, I'm a total beginner and I'm not good with playing scales on the piano. I find it distracting. I just like being able to sing along to the tracks of the scales. Does TVS offer pre-recorded scales and lessons? I might have to switch programs if they do.

Yeah that's the issue with CVT their method doesn't have a format for that and their many of their students' training suffers because of it.

You can try applying the CVT modes and principles and sound colors etc to your mastering mix workouts or 4 pillars if you get that. CVT and TVS go well together, according to some students on this forum and even if you asked Rob hed tell you TVS shares many similarities with CVT but TVS actually has training content while CVT really doesn't. Idk about doing the MM stuff in a more CVT-like way but try it first since it uses what you already have and if it works for you then you can save money. Otherwise definitely get 4 pillars its just about the most complete vocal workout system available. Has most of the traditional scales as well as sirens and robs own song-like vocalizes in rock and blues styles.

My opinion is that the Modes in CVI should be viewed as seperate techniques. Work on the modes seperately. I believe in the book it even tells you to get centered on one mode before starting with another one.

The way we get in trouble is by using the "Setup" for one mode and "Volume" or "Vowels" of another mode. Mixing elements of the "Techniques".

In a song you would use different techniques within the arrangement to acheive the over all "Style" of the song.

You would "CHOOSE" to use "curbing", "Neutral" or "Overdrive" in different areas of a song to achieve the effect you desire.