Please critique Run to the hills cover(Iron Maiden)

• TMV World Legacy Member

HI Folks,

I am a new joinee to this forum. I have started singing after nearly 9 years and at 34 years of age, I have a desire to be the best singer I can become. I have learnt a great deal by reading posts on these forums....

I have to say that I am NOT A TRAINED SINGER.. I have never had any vocal lessons and I have spent a great deal of effort trying to improve my singing technique. I have had to rely on google search for lessons, since I am in India and it is difficult/impossible to get a good rock singing coach.

I am also a newbie in the art of mixing and this again I have learnt by browsing and reading on web.

This song represents an effort that has taken several months. I have had to unlearn a lot of my bad techniques/habits and have had a real fun journey in my quest to become a better singer(starting with accessing the head voice, learning distortion, usage of diaphragm and vowel modification). I still feel that I can improve quite a bit but I am lost for direction at this stage..

I am a baritone and so this is an extremely difficult song for me.. Please listen and give feedback on areas that I can improve.. Plus, I am from India, so there may be accent related issues :-)

https://soundcloud.com/aravind-madhavan/run-to-the-hills-cover

Sounds like you're doing well so far. If this is the style you are going for I would recommend looking into Jaime Vendera. This is kind of his teaching niche. Well, he teaches all styles, but he's the vocal coach for the dude from Dream Theater and Myles Kennedy from Slash's band/Altar Bridge/the movie Rockstar - SO people of this style tend to gravitate to him. I purchased his book Raise Your Voice (an easy $30) and out of the half dozen "popular" vocal programs I've done I find his to be the most complete and easy to read and understand. Keep up the good work, the only limits you have are the ones you place on yourself! Good Luck!