Please pile on the criticism - Carrie Underwood cover! ;)

• TMV World Legacy Member

http://youtu.be/qQiiY0v9s6ge

Please say what you can about my voice in this pitchy, sloppy recording. I'm desperate for some advice, and do realize that nothing can replace the regular assistance of a proper vocal coach. However, I'm a student and can't afford one. Here are some questions I have that my quich search couldn't answer:

I briefly hit an f#4 and that's about as high as it goes for me. I can scream out a G4 but would empty a room. Is this normal for my voice type? I can only go as low as a G2 without strain. Should I keep trying to soften the neck muscles and continue cracking on G4, or belt out more regardless of strain? Mixed-voice seems to be far away from useable for me.

I'm ashamed of the tone and weight (?) of my voice and feel it sounds younger than my twenty years. Barring my hopeless accent, I'd like to be able to bring country, rock and Rnb on sometime. Should I attempt to emulate styles right away or focus on busting bad habits from years of singing in the shower?

Please if you have any advice or specific exercises, or notice anything fundamentally wrong with my singing, let me know. I appreciate your time, and love this forum!

:)

http://youtu.be/qQiiY0v9s6ge

• 2 weeks later...

I like it....not really sure what I can advice for advice since I suck but it was pleasant to my ear

Thanks! Reckon this place is outta my league judging by the lack of comments. ;)

Cheers

It sounded pretty good to me. :) For some reason a Country song doesn't get too many comments around here.

Plus the fact that you sounded pretty good. Nothing stands out that needs fixed to comment on.

Another thing you are singing a song that a female made famous so no one can compare you to the original singer.

That to me is awesome. :P I believe that we sing what moves us, not something that we can copy to perfection.